Rennet reboot

It has been too long since I wrote on this blog.  There are reasons. I’ve not been brewing or making cheese in a while.  It’s complicated, but mostly due to time and space management issues.

A while ago I tried to make feta and it never gelled.  Or congealed. Or coagulated.  It turns out the liquid rennet I had was probably denatured and no longer working.  What a waste of good milk!

So I bought rennet tablets, which are stabler and last longer. The problem is, I don’t know how to use them.  I’ve tried to look this up, but then kind of lost interest because I didn’t really have the time to make much more than cream cheese, and then I’d have to eat it.  I’d love to have the time to make feta or halloumi, but it’s been a busy year.

As for the beer, well, this is both a time issue and a volume issue. The more beer I have at home, the more I drink.  And at some point, one has to look carefully at that latter issue.  So I’ve been trying to drink less and more slowly.  The other thing is I want to move this summer, and I’d rather have a bunch of empty bottles than a bunch of full ones. I also intend, once I move, to begin kegging my beer, which will also help with space.  I figure if I brew immediately after moving, I’ll have a bunch of new house-themed beers on the taps for the autumn. And great pictures for the blog.

So my apologies, if you actually follow this blog and care.

Maybe I’ll post a bunch of pictures of the bread I’ve been making.

Are you keeping score?  Bread, cheese, beer.  Tasty home made products, for sure, but soon I’ll be having to post the pictures of me widening doorways so I can get through…

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

