A quick gushing update

…not gushing because I have an infected bottle. Not gushing because the beer in my carboy is blowing out the top.  Gushing because: I LOVE BREWING.

Recently I’ve been really busy.  Really really busy.  And little time to brew.  I did a beer in Feb, then one in April. (The gluten free wheat beer, incidentally, is very good.) Then one three weeks ago which is now conditioning.  Sigh.  And I’m right out of my favourites, so it’s getting desperate.

So here is the thing.  So busy, no inclination to brew, but I want to brew because, well, I like drinking my beer.  But I’ve got work to do, I’ve been doing a lot of scuba diving, too, as I train to be a dive master (and truth be told I have a dive buddy who is very persistent and very convincing, so we dive quite a bit). 

Bottom line: I have not been brewing.  And it’s like pulling teeth to get me going.

But then… I begin.  I’m pouring the water into the pot for mashing, before taking my recipe to the grain mill to measure and grain.  And somewhere between opening the 5 gallon bottle of RO water and finishing filling the pot, I enter this meditative state. Now it’s all about the brew. The many little tasks that are simultaneously routine and unique.  Measuring the grain, grinding, always checking the crush to make sure it’s just right. Digging through my bags of hops, measuring them out.  Taking notes, now detailed, now dashed off.  Watching the thermometer rise, doing the iodine test on the conversion… the waiting. the periods of standing around tidying because there is nothing to do, followed by a frenzy of activity as the wort begins to boil… 

It is but minutes before I’m just floating in this giddy state. Focused, but distracted.  My every day work, which has been very immersive lately, is not going anywhere, but I can deal with it tomorrow (literally, I have a lot of work to do tomorrow).  

Today, I’m brewing.  And if you watch carefully, you might just see me, ever so briefly (because I’m a sort of reserved kind of guy) jump up and down in glee.  I love brewing. 

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

