Hoppin’ on intertiaboy’s wave

A while ago my friend inertiaboy (Twitter: @inertiaboy) sent me a very nice present: 700gm of hops.  This is a lot of hops, all grown on the very robust vines crawling up the side of his big suburban home outside of Ottawa.  It puts my pathetic hop vines to shame!

So the hops were: Zeus and Chinook (two bittering hops) and Centennial and Cascade.  Clearly inertiaboy likes his American styles.

I brewed my Missing Sister IPA a few weeks ago using exclusively these hops.  Zeus in the boil; Cascade for flavouring.  I may have thrown something non-inertiaboy in there, but I can’t remember and don’t think so.

Here are some pictures.

intertiaboy's Zeus hops in the boil.

These are from the boil.  (The hops made it really easy to drain the pot because I had a screen on my valve and, unlike hop pellets, which gum up the works, these hops acted like a second filter).

I got too into the brew day to take any more pictures until I racked to secondary:

1.32 oz of fresh Kanata cascade hops

On the scale.  That’s a lotta hops. Smelled good, too!

The hops in the secondary. The foam is the ubiquitous star san foam.

As the caption says, the foam is benign.  As many homebrewers tell you: don’t fear the foam.

Playing with my macrophotography setting to get all artsy.

This is the final pic for now.  It’s been a week.  If I have time after brewing my Pitts Fuggles Special Bitter today (PSB, named after my editor who asked me “what’s a Fuggles”) I will bottle the IPA.

I tried it yesterday (i-boy’s birthday, incidentally), pulling some with a thief just to see how it’s doing.  It’s amazing how different the fresh hops make the beer taste.  More fruity, less pine.  But it’s still very young.  We will see.

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in brewing gear, fermentation, home brewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

