Deep discounted inspiration

Planning to can peaches, I went to the Canadian Tire to get some lids for my jars.  They cost me about $65.

A few days later I went there to get a few keys cut.  They cost me $50.

Why such expensive minor purchases?

Well, it’s because I am in that certain mood. They’ve been having very big sales on some very nice kitchen items.

The first time, I came home with a Lagostina pressure cooker.  I’ve wanted one for a while, since, as a vegetarian, I cook a lot of beans and pressure cookers are good for making dry beans not dry quickly. I’m sure it has other uses. How could I resist a $150 product for $50?

The second time, they had very deep discounts on Kitchenaid enamel coated cast iron pots (you know, those small round Dutch ovens?).  How could I resist?  A $100 product for $30?

Now I just have to figure out what to do with them.  I’m looking forward to autumn, when stews and bean dishes are more appropriate.

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

