The loneliness of the asocial home brewer

So I’ve been doing all grain brewing for a few weeks now, as you may know if you read this blog (though few do). I have been enjoying it, but continue to have more questions than answers. Unlike many of the brewers I have heard of in the US, Canadian home brewers are fewer and far between. So there are not that many people to whom I can ask many of my, what must be, inane questions. Combine that with my often hermit-like tendencies, and here I sit baffled.

I’ve been drawing upon the generally good-natured generosity of the home brewers on the BeerAdvocate homebrew forum, but I wonder at times if they get sick of my questions. The fact is, I tend to ask a lot of questions to understand stuff as fully as possible. It’s sort of an occupational hazard.

Anyway, here are the issues and questions I have yet to clarify:

  • Why is my all-grain beer turning out cloudy?
  • How long do I recirculate my wort before it is ready to boil?
  • How slowly should I run off my wort?
  • Why didn’t my original gravity drop more than it did in the last brew?
  • Why does my beer taste too grainy?
  • And general mashing process questions…

These are the sorts of things I could workshop with friends who brew.  Or take to a homebrew club.  But living on the border, having access to great home brewers across the river, I’d have to bring my beer across the border to a club event, and that is something that customs might frown upon.

And of course, the very act of going to a club event would go against my asocial tendencies…!

 

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in brewing trouble, fermentation, home brewing, Niagara, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

