And so to wrap up

It’s the end of NaBloPoMo.  I have had a month of rambling on.  Here goes the reflections, things I didn’t talk about, things I did, and things yet to come.  I’ll be off for a few days (avoiding the blogosphere) so this is it:

  • Pickles are great.  I have cracked the first jar. Mmmm
  • Ditto peaches.  They were a little under ripe when we canned them, but came out quite nice.  Very light syrup, so combine the under-ripeness (ie: less sugar) in the originals with the light syrup, and they taste almost as if there is no sugar in the syrup
  • Pureed garlic is amazing.  I scoop it in its frozen state out of the jar using a melon baller, and add it to recipes that call for garlic.  Crazy simple.
  • BBQ sauces, ketchups and chutney are hits.  I have been putting these things on everything, and plying my friends with them.  Resoundingly positive.
  • All grain brewing.  I’m doing it.  Enough with screwing around with attempts at sort of all grain.  It’s easy, it’s cheap, and while time consuming, it’s remarkably satisfying.
  • Technology.  It’s good to have the money to buy the right stuff.  Or even better, to make the right stuff.
  • Pressure canner.  didn’t buy one. but I keep eyeing them up.
  • Soups.  Freeze em in pint jars for quick and nutritious lunches.  But a pressure canner would be even better.
  • Dried fruit.  Mmmm.  It’s better when it’s your own.

In the end, just to reflect on the whole canning/ freezing/ brewing thing: I generate less waste, buy fewer processed products, and know what I’m eating and drinking.  I don’t consider myself a “locovore” because labels feel confining, but it does taste and feel good when everything comes from nearby

Let’s just see how long these foods last me.  I have what feels like more than I’ll need for the winter, but you never know.  The harvest is a long way off!

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in apple sauce, canned peaches, canning, chutney, drying, fermentation, freezing, garlic, ginger, home brewing, Niagara, pickles, preserves, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

