And the waiting begins…

All grain brew day (see previous posts).  I’m brewing an English Mild.

I began at about 10am.  It’s 2:45 as I write, and the wort is all collected and in the kettle.  I wait for it to boil.

It has been a day of surprises, both good and bad.

I have learned that my cooler seems not to be able to hold the temperature as well as I would like.  It may have dropped 10 degrees F in an hour, which is crazy.  However, there are other factors, so I can’t worry yet.

I learned that my efficiency (the amount of sugar extracted from grain, expressed in a percentage, with 100 being all the possible sugar is extracted–which is pretty much impossible) is higher than I expected.  I thought it would be a reasonable 65%, but it was actually 70%, which is pretty impressive.

Now I wait for the boil.  this will take a long time (if it ever happens–my stove doesn’t crank out the kind of heat I really need).  I have time, therefore, to post some pictures.

This is the kitchen as I laid out all the gear

Here I'm collecting the first runnings

The spigot is about 1" off the bottom of the cooler, so I tilted it a bit to get more of the wort.

You can see the temp dropped considerably. I don't know if this will really matter (since it was sparging, not mashing at this point)

Here we can see the wort from the second sparge draining into the kettle.

This is after everything stopped. The tube there is connected to the spigot

So there you go. The wort is about to boil.  I should get back to it.  Have to add the hops and so on…  good times!

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in home brewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

