ESB. Tasting notes of a young beer

So I pulled a bottle of my ESB (bottled 10 days ago when I brewed my Barleywine).  I wanted to try it even though I’m finding these beers really don’t get good until about three weeks after I bottle them.

It poured a very nice amber colour, and was quite clear.  While the bottle cap made the requisite pffft when I cracked it, there was no carbonation to speak of.  I had primed it with a minimal amount of sugar, but it should have more bubbles.  I should put it in a warmer space, since the basement is getting colder.

Good malty-hop nose, pretty much what i wanted.  Hop bitterness is nice, fairly distant.  But what is most noticeable is the tart tannin taste.  This is a problem from my brewing process (a bad version of mashing) because my process extracted too many tannins from the grain husk).

Well, it’s okay.  It is salvageable.  And now, with my new yeasts and grains (see yesterday’s post) I will have another go at an ESB.  I bought a specialty WYeast strain yesterday, called “West Yorkshire Ale” which sounds perfect for a sweet, northern English bitter.   yet I still need to make something more wintery.  Guess I’ll have to brew at least twice!

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in brewing trouble, fermentation, home brewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

