Putting up with the air method

One of my favourite entries in the book Put ’em Up is the entry on drying herbs. It is admittedly the easiest process in the book. Cut the herbs, tie them with a string, hang them in a dry place.  You’re done.

I was not unfamiliar with this radical preserving method, but the entry, combined with the massive amounts of herbs I have not been harvesting from my garden, made me think it’s time to put it into action.

Where to dry them?  The book suggests the attic is a good, dry space, but mine is not.  It’s cold but rather humid.  So I put them in the back window of my house, which is probably pretty dry.  When they’re totally dry, I’ll crush them, bag them, and freeze them.  Herbs all winter!

Left to right: oregano, thyme, rosemary, sage and parsley. (sing it right to left)

Now, if I choose to anthropomorphize these herbs, it would seem that this is inhuman treatment.  They are hanging in view of the place from which they came.  You can just barely see the remnants of the herb garden at the bottom left of this picture (still nice and green, thanks to the hardiness of herbs and abundance of chives).

I missed the boat on the basil.  It was big and full, but began to wilt and brown before I could harvest them.  Next year I won’t make the same mistake; I’ll harvest all summer.

As you can see, I need more recipes for sage…

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in drying, gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

