It wasn’t even Friday the 13th…

Yesterday was a bad day.  It was looking good, but then it got bad.  Relatively.  Well, okay, it was just another day, no buildings were hit by jets or earthquakes split the earth nearby.  Just, in the grand scheme of things, an everyday day, but let me be selfish.

Here is what I learned yesterday.

I learned that 4.5 dozen cobs of corn yields a lot more corn than I can possibly eat in a year.  I think.  I’ll try, really.

I learned that a corn cobber is sharp, and corn cobs are slippery, and when trying to use one on the other, things slip sideways and take big chunks out of thumbs.

I learned that when you use rubber gloves to cut hot peppers, and then use the same gloves to cover your now bloody and bandaged thumb, make sure that the outside of the glove from the pepper cutting hasn’t become the inside of the glove.  It burns.

I learned that no matter how much the recipes editor of a press assures you that 10 cups of ingredients can make 5 pints of  a product, she’s wrong.  I’ll write a separate blog on this tomorrow.

I learned that freshly de-cobbed corn is sticky and gluey, and gets everywhere.

I learned that the applesauce process on Food in Jars is more complicated when you make it 2.5X the recipe.

I learned that you end up with a very thick sauce if you don’t add more water.

I learned that cloves should be added in extreme moderation.

I learned that you need to make sure the snap lids are hot so the sealing compound is pliable enough to make a seal.  Otherwise, after a half hour of processing, you’ll just have a hot saucy mess, and need to use new lids to make new seals.  And this requirement is a right pain in the butt at midnight.

I learned that 12 Lb of apples makes a whopping 3 Quarts of very thick  applesauce when you don’t use more liquid.

Worst of all, I learned that my BBQ sauce came in second out of TWO entries at the Thorndale Fair, KEL’s plum jam which didn’t set and therefore was entered as plum preserves in aforementioned Fair beat my plum preserves (she came in first–congrats!–I didn’t place).  And that nothing else we entered placed at all.

On the upside, the spiced apple chutney is really good, even if it only made 5 cups.

Apple results. The four ears of corn in the back is all that's left of my five dozen cobs.

Despite this, I really like the look of these jars of lovely apple-y goodness.

Ready for their closeup?

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in apple sauce, apples, canning, chutney, preserves and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It wasn’t even Friday the 13th…

  1. Kim says:

    I know this is easy to say, what with my blue ribbon and all, but we both know the T-dale Fair judges sometimes aren’t the best judge of Awesome.

Leave a Reply

