If you like it then you wanna put a lid on it

So back in June I bought a 10 Gallon Pot.  I figure it’s big enough that it deserves capitalization.  This is to hold a full wort for a 5 gallon boil (you boil down from more than 5 Gallons, and given the amount of foaming that can happen during the boil, 10 gals should be sufficient.

I bought a pretty good, industry grade pot from a local restaurant supplier.  Unfortunately, the lids were on back order.  I was told they’d be in at the end of the week, or next week.  This was just a few days before I went on vacation for a while, so I told them just to call me and I’d get it when I got home.

Brewing without the lid was a bit of a pain, since bringing 6.5 gallons up to a boil without a lid is pretty difficult.  In fact, a brew day was extended by a few hours just because it took so long to bring it to boil.  Boiling, BTW, is essential for the hops to convert some of their oils into that lovely bitterness.

It is now September.  In August I called to find out where the heck my lid was.  They told me it was still on back order, and would arrive Sept. 3.  On Sept 3 I heard nothing, and tried to call Sept 4 (they are open usually half days on Saturdays) but didn’t get through.

I brewed on Saturday (as you’ll see from my first post here) and managed to get it to a boil using a substandard foil serving tray and boiling 3 Gallons instead of 6.

Three gallons of lovely IPA brewed without a proper lid.

On Tuesday I finally heard back from them.  Apparently, their supplier has been “out of lids all summer.”  What?  Really?  You sell pots without lids on a regular basis?

This would normally not be a problem, except that yeast cultures don’t last forever, and so my whole process of building yeast and then putting beer on them could be foiled if I don’t get that lid.  AND to top it off, the next beer is pumpkin, so I want it to be ready by Halloween at the absolute latest.

Very frustrating.  Sorry, I don’t want to rant normally on this blog, but that was really annoying.  No full wort boils for at least another two weeks.

About danmalleck

Medical historian and jack-of-all-trades curmudgeon. I tend to ramble about politics, social incivility, and our self-centred culture more interested in buying the next cool ringtone or LED TV than actively engaging in the sorts of discussions and issues that matter. The more opportunity we have to buy more stuff, the less concern there is, it seems, in politics, social justice and let's face it, basic human decency, unless those things actually can save us money or get us more things to show how awesome we are through displaying our material wealth. And I like to brew beer, make cheese, and put food in jars.
This entry was posted in home brewing, Niagara. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

